Board of Directors

IISS Board Directors serve on a voluntary basis and receive no compensation from IISS.

Eric R. Fossum is a Professor at the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth and coordinates the Ph.D. Innovation Program. He co-founded and led Photobit (sold to Micron and spun out as Aptina) and also was CEO of Siimpel. For the invention of the CMOS active-pixel image sensor “camera-on-a-chip” at JPL/Caltech he was inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame. He received the NASA Exceptional Achievement Medal and the IEEE Andrew Grove Award. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a Charter Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, a Fellow Member of the IEEE and OSA, and a member of SMTPE. He co-founded the IISS and was its 1st President. He holds over 160 US patents and has published over 280 papers. For fun, he and his wife operate a hobby farm in New Hampshire.
Junichi Nakamura received the B.S. and M.S. in electronics engineering from Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan, in 1979 and 1981, and a Ph.D. in electronics engineering from the University of Tokyo, Japan, in 2000. During his career he worked at Olympus Optical Co., Japan, NASA JPL, CA, Photobit Corporation, CA. He established Photobit’s Japan Branch that became Micron’s Japan Imaging Design Center in 2001, and currently ON-Semi/Aptina Japan in Tokyo. Currently, he is with Brillnics, Tokyo, Japan, serving as CTO. Dr. Nakamura is a Fellow of the Institute of Image Information and Television Engineers of Japan. He was Editor and a Contributor for a textbook “Image Sensors and Signal Processing for Digital Still Cameras”. He received the Takayanagi Memorial Award in 2009 for his contribution to CMOS Image Sensor developments.
Johannes Solhusvik received his PhD in 1996 on CCD and CMOS Image Sensor (CIS) design at ISAE, Toulouse, France. After which he joined ABB (Norway). In ‘99 he established Photobit (Norway) CIS design center which became Micron (Norway) in ‘01. He expatriated during 2004-06 to Micron’s CIS HQ in USA, managing design teams in USA, Japan, UK and Norway. He then repatriated to focus on CIS R&D. In 2009 he joined the Micron spin-off, Aptina (Norway), where he served as Fellow and CTO of Automotive BU until ‘12 when he joined OmniVision (Norway) as General Manager with focus on product design and chip architecture. Dr. Solhusvik is IISS board member and TPC member, and has served as TPC member of ISSCC from ‘05 to ‘11, and of ESSCIRC from’11 until present.
Eric Stevens has been involved in the research and development of solid-state imaging devices since joining Eastman Kodak Co. in 1983. He is currently a Senior Member of the Technical Staff at ON Semiconductor. During his career, he has worked in the areas of design, device and process modeling, and characterization. Eric has authored or co-authored several publications, has over 60 U.S. patents, and is an ON Semiconductor Distinguished Innovator. His KAF-1300 sensor, which went into the worlds first digital SLR camera, was recognized by the IEEE as one of “the top 25 microchips that shook the world”; Eric was also awarded the Walter Kosonocky Award in 2009. He is a senior member of the IEEE, and a member of the ASME.
Nobukazu Teranishi is a professor at University of Hyogo and Shizuoka University. Since 1978, he has developed image sensors at NEC Corporation (1978 – 2000) and at Panasonic Corporation (2000 -2013). His leadership and image sensor technology development, including the pinned photodiode invention were honored by the government organizations as well as societies; He won the National Invention Awards, Commendation by Minister of State for Science and Technology, Niwa-Takayanagi Award from the Institute of Image Information and Television Engineers (ITE), IEEE EDS J.J.Ebers Award, a Fellow of the ITE, and a Fellow of the IEEE. He co-founded the IISS and is its 2nd President. He has authored and co-authored 105 papers and holds 46 Japanese patents and 21 US patents.
Albert Theuwissen received the EE degree from the University of Leuven (Belgium) in 1977 and his PhD degree in 1983. Then he joined Philips Research Laboratories in Eindhoven (the Netherlands). He is author or coauthor of over 180 technical papers and issued several patents. He served as the International Technical Program Chair ISSCC 2010. In 2001, he was appointed as part-time professor at the Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands.In April 2002, he joined DALSA and in September 2007, he started his own company “Harvest Imaging”. In 2008, he received the SMPTE’s Fuji Gold medal. He is an IEEE Fellow and member of SPIE. In 2011 he was elected as “Electronic Imaging Scientist of the Year”.
Board Assignments (as of June 2016)
E. Fossum Treasurer
J. Nakamura Awards
J. Solhusvik Website
E. Stevens Secretary
N. Teranishi President
A. Theuwissen External Relations
N. Teranishi & J. Nakamura 2017 IISW

Link to Donation Policies

Link to Articles of Incorporation